Postseason berth spoiled by bad call by umpire

The Nationals played a single-admission doubleheader on Wednesday versus the LA Dodgers. The Nats got number 90 on the 4:05 1st game and between games the players had a fire drill for a half hour.

But in the 4th inning of the nightcap, something strange happened. There was two outs, and Ryan Zimmerman tagged out the runner at third base. Three outs. Matt Kemp trotted slowly home. Run doesn’t count, right? Zimmerman tagged the runner out before he got to home plate.

See the play for yourself, and leave me a comment if you think the run should count or not.  Did Zimmerman tag out the runner for the 3rd out before Kemp crossed the plate?
Disputed Run

This run was costly to the Nationals. It was because if he was called out, it would have been a 5-0 game and the Nationals’ six run eighth would’ve gave them the lead and Matt Kemp’s 0-2 count homer would tie it, not eventually win it. 

NATIONALS NEWS GM. 1 DODGERS (LAD) 1 NATIONALS (WSH) GM. 2 DODGERS (LAD) 7 NATIONALS (WAS) 6 If the  Nats won,  they would go into the playoffs for the first time

2 Comments

It was a bad call!

Horrible call. Ump was asleep! Confer behind the plate and then sneak a look at the replay… oh oh … you would have to wake up first!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: